Skip to main content
You have permission to edit this article.
Keith Foss wins again at Mississippi Thunder Speedway

Keith Foss wins again at Mississippi Thunder Speedway

  • 1

FOUNTAIN CITY — Keith Foss is heating up. And that’s bad news for other drivers in the Rivercity Manufacturing USRA Modifieds class at Mississippi Thunder Speedway.

Foss won a feature for the second consecutive week, grabbing the lead on Lap 4 then holding off former track champion Brad Waits, Dustin Sorenson and three-time track champion Josh Angst on Friday night.

“This car is running perfect,” Foss said in Victory Lane. “This is one of the very first chassis ever built by this company. It’s taken us a while to really figure it out, but I think we’ve got it just about perfect right now.”

In the Black Horse Bar & Grill USRA B-Mods class, Casey Knutson appeared headed toward victory — and an end to a recent string of bad luck — but an unintentional bump from Alex Williamson loosened an electrical wire on Knutston’s No. 12K, stalling the car with two laps left.

On the restart, Rushford’s Williamson jumped from the pack and raced to his first feature win of 2017.

“I feel sorry about Casey,” Williamson said. “He was fast and finally running strong. I’m sorry to see that happen to him tonight.”

Ryan Olson was second, with JT Wasmund third. Erik Kanz was fourth and John Feirn fifth.

Lance Hofer, the 2015 Centerville Welding & Repair USRA Late Models champion, charged to the front of the field in a three-wide battle for the lead on the opening lap, blasting past pole sitter Shaun Mann and Curt Luhmann. He was never seriously challenged the rest of the way.

Mann was second, and 2016 champion Justin Sass was third.

Brad Kramer claimed his first feature win in the Redbox+ 600 Mod division. Kramer led the entire race, fending off challenges from Bruce Schmitt, Cody Gardner and Greg Wohletz.

“It’s been a long time coming,” Kramer said. “I’ve been working so hard.”

Joshua Ludeking made his first visit to MTS on Friday, and it paid off with a feature win.

Ludeking was in a three-wide battle with Steve Dwyer and Brady Link to the finish. Dwyer and Link rubbed doors, and Dwyer slid sideways down the front straightaway and ended up finishing fourth.

JR Tourtellott won the 12-lap Harmston Trucking MTS Hornets feature.

Action returns to MTS next week with Fastenal Night at the track. Slingshots begin racing on the lightning speedway at 5:45 p.m., while the rest of the racing starts at 6:45 p.m.


Be the first to know

* I understand and agree that registration on or use of this site constitutes agreement to its user agreement and privacy policy.

Related to this story

Get up-to-the-minute news sent straight to your device.


News Alerts

Breaking News